Onomatopoeia

These recommended books will inspire your kids to make some noise in their own writing.

Tiny Little Fly.  Michael Rosen.  Candlewick, 2010.
Great Big Elephant, Great Big Hippo and Great Big Tiger try to capture Tiny Little Fly with a Tramp! Crush! Roll! Squash!  This would be fun to pair with “Old Black Fly” and “The Very Grouchy Ladybug.”  The large, rustic pencil and gouache artwork in warm savanna colors make this perfect for large group sharing.  Picture Book.

All the Water in the World.  George Ella Lyon and Katherine Tillotson.  Atheneum, 2011.
A feast for the eyes and ears, this noisy and lyrical introduction to the water cycle begs to be read aloud.  Thirsty air licks it from lakes, sips it from ponds, guzzles it from oceans…  The beautiful illustrations are digital, but look like paper and paint collage.  Picture Book.
Read-aloud K-2nd grade

Bob.  Tracey Campbell Pearson.  Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2002.
In his search to find someone who can teach him how to crow, Bob, the rooster learns to make many animals sounds.  It’s not until a fox threatens the hen house one night that Bob finally finds his cock-a-doodle-do.  Picture Book.

Can You Growl Like a Bear? John Butler.  Peachtree, 2007.
Rhyming text asks children to repeat the sounds of various animals.  Picture Book.

Click, Clack, Moo : Cows that Type.  Doreen Cronin.  Simon & Schuster, 2000.
Farmer Brown’s cows use a typewriter to demand electric blankets for the chickens.
The chickens stop laying eggs when he refuses.  As things get out of hand, the ducks (who also like to type) bring the skill of negotiation to solve the problem.  Picture Book.

Dear Fish.  Chris Gall.  Little Brown, 2006.
Responding to an invitation from a boy in a bottle thrown out to sea, a variety of sea animals show up in town.  Fans of Allsburg and Wiesner will love this.  Picture Book.

Double Trouble in Walla Walla.  Andrew Clements.  Millbrook Press, 1997.
Lulu, the principal, school nurse and teacher are infected by a” wobble wobble word warp”.  Much “flip-flop chitter chatter” ensues.  Lots of hyphenated words and nonsense rhymes.  Fun to read-aloud.  Picture Book.

Five Green and Speckled Frogs. Priscilla Burris.  Scholastic, 2003
“Five green and speckled frogs…/ sat on a speckled log,/ eating some most delicious bugs.”  Picture Book.

I Stink! Kate McMullan.  HarperCollins, 2002.
A city garbage truck describes it’s rounds and collects an alphabet of garbage.
Loud and fun to read-aloud!  Picture Book.

I’m Bad Kate McMullan.   HarperCollins, 2008.
A hungry Tyrannosaurus confronts many obstacles in his search for food.  Picture Book.

I’m Dirty. Kate McMullan.  HarperColins, 2006.
A backhoe loves getting dirty and describes the various stuff he moves.  Picture Book.

In the Tall, Tall Grass. Denise Fleming.  Holt, 1991.
A young boy watches creatures sin the grass from lunch time until nightfall.  The caterpillar crunches and munches, bees hum, moles scratch, etc.  Beautiful handmade paper collage art–Fleming’s signature.  Picture Book.

Ker-splash!  George O’Conner.  Simon & Schuster, 2005.
Three kids on the beach pretend they are superheroes.  Lots of comic book style FA-ZOOM! action.  Picture Book.

The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything. Linda Williams.  HarperCollins, 1986.
Walking through the woods, a little old lady is confronted by shoes, pants, shirt, gloves a hat and a huge jack-o-lantern, with their own sound effects: clomp, clomp, wiggle, wiggle, shake, shake.  Picture Book.

Little Red Cowboy Hat. Susan Lowell.  Holt, 2000.
A southwestern Little Red Riding Hood, where little red rides a pony to grandma’s house.  Picture Book.

Muncha! Muncha! Muncha!Candace Fleming.  Atheneum, 2002.
Mr. McGreely finally has his dream garden only to find that some clever rabbits threaten to ruin it.  Rich with onomatopoeia.  Picture Book.

Push Button.  Aliki.  Greenwillow, 2010.
It is amazing how much technology a pre-schooler has access too.  It seems like a great thing until his finger becomes sore.  He searches out other fun things to do with his including looking at books.  Picture Book.
Read-aloud K-2nd grade

The Rain Stomper.  Addie Boswell.  Marshall Cavendish, 2008.
Nothing can ruin a neighborhood parade like a rainstorm.  Jazmin makes the best of the situation by stomping and shouting to drive the rain away.  Realistic illustrations and lots of figurative language make this a great read-aloud.  Picture Book.

Slop Goes the Soup : A Noisy Warthog Book.  Pamela Duncan Edwards.  Hyperion, 2001.
Two warthogs preparing a dinner party have a humorous chain reaction of accidents, beginning with a sneeze.  Back page defines onomatopoeia and makes suggestions for creating your own.  Picture Book.

Snow Sounds : An Onomatopoeic Story. David Johnson.  Houghton Mifflin, 2006.
The only words in this beautifully illustrated book are the warm sounds inside a sleeping house and the sounds of shovels and snow removal equipment as a boy wakes up and prepares for going to school.  Picture Book.

When Papa Snores. Melinda Long.  Simon & Shuster, 2000.
A girl’s grandparents snore with increasing intensity and loudness.  Onomatopoeia on every page.  Picture Book.

Who’s in Rabbit’s House? : A Masai Tale. Verna Aardema.  Dial, 1979.
Someone is in Rabbit’s house and won’t let her in. A frog is called on to get the animal out of the house after other animals have failed.   A classic.  Picture Book.

fold-left fold-right
About the author

One Reply to Onomatopoeia

  1. Tiny Little Fly is adored by my 21 month old grandson. The pictures fascinate him, as well as the sounds and repeating of “I”m going to get that fly.”

Leave a Reply